RETURN


Calgary August 1999

Dear Reader,

We hope that you will find "Escaping Hell" by Kon Piekarski very interesting and that the book will help you to better understand the tragedy and reality of concentration camps during the Second World War - especially the one in Auschwitz where millions of people: Jews, Poles, Russians, Gypsies and other nationalities were exterminated by Nazi Germany. The enclosed photocopies of documents are based on information sent  by Kon Piekarski from Auschwitz to the Headquarters of the Polish Home Army in Warsaw and then conveyed by it to London. The Allies and the world knew in the very early stages of WWII of the atrocities taking place in the heart of Europe; the dates of the documents are July 10th, 1943 (p. 1&2) and August 12th, 1943 (p. 3, 4&5).

Kon Piekarski was a Pole and a soldier. He was wounded during the German invasion of Poland in September 1939; then his division was captured by the Soviet Red Army which invaded Poland on the 17th of September, 1939 but he was able to escape and immediately join the Polish Resistance Organization. He was arrested by Gestapo, tortured and sent to Auschwitz in September 1940. Kon Piekarski witnessed the martyrdom and heroic death of Saint Maximilian Kolbe. In the concentration camp Piekarski joined the underground resistance organization (AK - Home Army) headed by legendary cavalry captain - Witold Pilecki - and led one of his groups. Witold Pilecki, war time hero and great patriot, was sentenced to death by the Soviet-Communist Government in Poland and on the 25th of May, 1948 was murdered at the Mokotów prison.

Piekarski was able not only to survive the hell of Nazi camps but also to save the most precious treasure - humanity. Shortly before the war ended, Piekarski escaped from the concentration camp in Germany and fled to England, where he finished London University and received Dipl.Ing. in Metallurgy&Mechanical Engineering. After immigrating to Canada in 1951, he worked and taught at the Waterloo University , Ontario, for over 30 years. In 1968 he also obtained his Ph.D. from Cambridge University, England.

Towards the end of his life, encouraged by his friends and war-time companions, he wrote the memoirs of those tragic years. He started work on the Polish translation of this book and planned to publish excerpts of "Escaping Hell" in Polish magazines. But he was not able to accomplish this. After an active and committed life he succumbed to a serious heart disease and died in London, Ontario, on the 6th of December, 1990.

After purchasing the entire edition of his book from the publisher, we are now promoting "Escaping Hell" by sending hundreds of copies to the Auschwitz Museum as well as libraries, schools, universities and other organizations all over the world. The book is of now beeing translated into Polish and it will be soon available on the Internet and probably published in Poland.

The Konstanty Piekarski Memorial Foundation has been established to continue our mission and to preserve the truth about Nazi German concentration camps during the Second World War. This is especially important now, in light of so much controversy over Auschwitz and other places of genocide.

Konstanty Piekarski Memorial Foundation
Małgorzata & Bonifacy Pulwicki
pulwicki@shaw.ca

 

The list of sponsors………thank you very much!

 

RETURN

RETURN


Calgary, octobre 1999


Chers lecteurs,

Nous espérons que le livre de Konstantin Piekarski "Escaping Hell" vous permettra d’avoir une plus grande connaissance des camps de concentration pendant la deuxième guerre mondiale, en particulier celui d’Auschwitz où des millions de personnes - Juifs, Polonais, Russes, Tziganes et autres ont été tués par l’Allemagne nazie. Nous joignons à ce livre la copie de documents originaux qui furent envoyés par Konstantin Piekarski d’Auschwitz au quartier général de la résistance polonaise (Armée de l’intérieur/Armii Krajowej: AK) à Varsovie et envoyés ensuite à Londres; ces documents portent les dates suivantes: 10 juillet 1943 (p.1 et 2) et 12 août 1943 (p.3,4, et 5).

Konstantin Piekarski était un soldat polonais. Il fut blessé lors de l’invasion de la Pologne par l’Allemagne en septembre 1939. Sa division fut annexée par l’armée soviétique qui envahit la Pologne le 17 septembre 1939, mais il s’échappa et rejoignit la résistance polonaise (AK). Il fut arrêté par la gestapo, torturé et envoyé avec l’un des premiers transports à Auschwitz où il participa à l’organisation parmi les prisonniers d’une branche de la résistance de l’armée de l’intérieur (AK) dirigée par le capitaine de cavalerie bien connu, Witold Pilecki. Witold Pilecki, héros de ces temps de guerre et grand patriote, fut condamné à la peine de mort par le gouvernement communiste soviétique en Pologne, l’exécution se déroula le 25 mai 1948 à la prison de Mokotow. Kon Piekarski fut aussi témoin du martyre et de la mort héroïque de Saint Maximilien Kolbe.

Konstantin Piekarski a non seulement survécu à l’enfer des camps de concentration mais il a su aussi gardé la valeur la plus précieuse - l’humanité. Juste avant la fin de la guerre, il s’évada du camp de concentration pour aller en Allemagne et ensuite en Angleterre où il finit ses études à London University College. Il émigra au Canada en 1951 et obtint son doctorat de l’université de Cambridge. Il travailla et enseigna à l’université de Waterloo, en Ontario, pendant plus de 30 ans.

Vers la fin de sa vie, encouragé par ses amis et compagnons de guerre, il écrivit ses mémoires sur ces années tragiques. Il commença à travailler sur une traduction polonaise de son livre (le livre a été écrit en anglais et publié seulement au Canada); il pensa publier des extraits dans des journaux polonais. Mais il ne put mener à terme son projet. Après une vie active et engagée il mourut d’une grave maladie cardiaque le 6 décembre 1990 à London en Ontario.

Après avoir acheté l’ensemble des exemplaires, nous essayons de promouvoir "Escaping Hell" en envoyant des centaines d’exemplaires au musée d’Auschwitz, aux écoles, aux bibliothèques, aux universités et autres organisations dans le monde entier. Nous traduisons le livre de Konstantin Piekarski en polonais, pensant l’ajouter sur notre site internet  et le faire publier en Pologne.

Nous avons organisé la fondation Konstantin Piekarski (Konstantin Piekarski Memorial Foundation), ceci afin d’élargir les connaissances sur les tragiques et toujours insuffisantes informations concernant les événement de la deuxième guerre mondiale; et en particulier les informations controversées concernant Auschwitz et les autres lieux où fut perpétré le Génocide.

The Konstanty Piekarski Memorial Foundation
Malgorzata & Bonifacy Pulwicki
pulwicki@shaw.ca


Et voici la liste des sponsorsi………merci beaucoup !


RETURN